Course Content
CPBP 8328 | QSBC Seminar Series
About Lesson

Dr. Ashlee N. Ford Versypt leads the Systems Biomedicine and Pharmaceutics Laboratory. The long-term goal for her research program is to develop multiscale mathematical and computational models to enhance understanding of the mechanisms governing tissue remodeling and damage as a result of diseases and infections and to simulate the treatment of those conditions to improve human health. The Systems Biomedicine and Pharmaceutics Laboratory specializes in modeling kinetics and transport processes involved in biological and chemical interactions related to both physiological microenvironments and engineered biomedical and pharmaceutical systems, particularly those involved in tissue damage and treatment. Her research program is funded by the National Science Foundation and the National Institutes of Health. Additionally, Dr. Ford Versypt also disseminates educational scholarship through publications, presentations, and software related to chemical engineering instruction, computational activities, student development, and outreach.

While earning her Ph.D. at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Dr. Ford Versypt was awarded the Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF) and the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. In 2013, Dr. Ford Versypt was recognized as the Frederick A. Howes Scholar in Computational Science, which is awarded annually to a recent alumnus of the DOE CSGF for outstanding leadership, character, and technical achievement. In 2012-2014, Dr. Ford Versypt was a postdoctoral research associate in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Prior to joining UB in January 2021, Dr. Ford Versypt was an Assistant Professor (2014-2020) and a Tenured Associate Professor (2020) in the School of Chemical Engineering at Oklahoma State University (OSU).

Dr. Ford Versypt has received a number of awards for her research, teaching, and service including the NSF CAREER Award, ASEE Chemical Engineering Ray W. Fahien Award, ASEE Midwest Section Outstanding Service Award, AIChE 35 Under 35, OSU Outstanding Achievement for the Mentorship of Women, OSU College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology Excellent Teacher Award, and Joseph J. Martin Award for best paper in the ChE Division at the 2014 ASEE Annual Meeting. She is an Academic Trustee of Computer Aids for Chemical Engineering (CACHE). She has held a number of leadership roles in the ASEE Chemical Engineering Division (including Chair in 2020-2021), the AIChE Computing & Systems Technology Division, and the Publications Board for the journal Chemical Engineering Education. Additionally, she served on the advisory board for the School of Chemical, Biological, and Materials Engineering at the University of Oklahoma, her undergraduate alma mater.